Great Food Club Awards 2023/24 – The Winners

The Champions

Restaurant of the Year – full details
The Monk, Quorn, Leicestershire

Pub of the Year – full details
The Red Lion, West Deeping, Lincolnshire

Food Producer of the Year – full details
Stonehurst Farm, Mountsorrel, Leicestershire

Drink Producer of the Year – full details
Tynt Meadow Trappist Brewery, Mount St Bernard Abbey, Coalville, Leicestershire

Shop of the Year – full details
The Cheese Shop, Nottingham

Café of the Year – full details
The Harley Cafe, Welbeck, Nottinghamshire

Bakery of the Year – full details
Harrison & Griffiths, Arnold, Nottinghamshire

People’s Choice Award – full details
The Forge at Glenfield, Leicestershire

Food Heroes of the Year – full details
Jane Tomlinson, founder, Redhill Farm Free Range Pork, Lincolnshire
Sara Barton, founder, Brewsters Brewery, Grantham


How the winners were selected
We asked GFC’s members and readers to nominate “one independent food/drink business that has brought you the most joy over the past 12 months”. Over 6,000 online votes were cast during May and June 2023. The overall vote winner was named People’s Choice Award Champion. We then chose the shortlist using three measures:

  • Votes cast (multiple votes from individuals were discarded)
  • The popularity of social media activity during the past 12 months
  • Our own knowledge

You can see all shortlisted businesses at the ‘full details’ links under each category listed above. Once the shortlist was created, our judges selected the winners.

The judging process
To make their decisions, our judges visited or tried the food & drink of every shortlisted business. They ate – anonymously where possible – at all the pubs, cafés and restaurants.

Ineligible businesses
Businesses that won GFC awards last year were not eligible to be shortlisted this year. Our aim is to showcase a broad range of independents and by not allowing a single business to win an award two years in a row, we go some way to achieving this aim.

Click here to see the 2022/23 winners.

The author: