This institution is a must-visit for anyone visiting Cambridge. Walking through the town centre and not trying one of Fitzbillies’ legendary sticky Chelsea buns is almost a criminal offence! There’s plenty more on offer here too and this bustling foodie honeypot serves breakfast, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea. It comprises a 70-seater waiter-service restaurant as well as cake shop and separate coffee bar.
Fitzbillies was founded in 1921 by Ernest and Arthur Mason, using their ‘demob’ money from the First World War (their initials are still visible on the original art nouveau shop front in Trumpington Street). However, 90 years later in 2011 the shop went into bankruptcy and closed its doors. A campaign by Stephen Fry amongst others followed, and food critic Tim Haywood and his wife Alison Wright stepped into the breach to breath new life into the town landmark.
Now with two Cambridge locations – the original Trumpington Street shop and a second on Bridge Street – Fitzbillies continues to bake great cakes alongside their famous Chelsea buns (a heavenly Chelsea bun ice cream is now available, too). It serves great coffee as well, making this a great place for a quick coffee, breakfast or light lunch.
Don’t leave Cambridge without paying Fitzbillies a visit!
By Cambridgeshire editor Philip Seaman
Pictures: Fitzbillies website